SPE Student Chapter Leoben
Welcome Words of the President
Last Revised: 21. 05. 2018

In the following lines, you can read the greeting words of Christoph Flicker – current President of the Society of Petroleum Engineers Student Chapter of Montanuniversitaet Leoben.

As part of the Annual General Meeting of the Montanuniversitaet Leoben SPE Student Chapter on the 22nd of January, the election of the new board members and officers for 2018 took place at the Department of Petroleum Engineering.

The new team of the SPE Student Chapter in Leoben dedicates itself to bring the students of the Montanuniversitaet Leoben in contact with the industry. This is done by organizing company presentations of domestic and foreign oil- and gas companies, sometimes accompanied by recruiting sessions with the respective HR departments. As a convenient addition, these events usually include buffets where networking with the industry experts can be conducted.

In collaboration with the student representatives of petroleum engineering, a yearly multi-day fieldtrip is organized, with Amsterdam being the designated destination of 2018. The desire to participate in this journey was evident as all the slots were gone by 5:30 in the morning on the registration day.

Furthermore, the SPE Student Chapter Leoben also tries to help its members improving their skillset with workshops and distinguished lectures. Additionally, mock interview sessions in collaboration with relevant industry representatives are planned for the students in order to prepare them for eventual hiring processes.

Apart from business related topics, the chapter organizes events throughout the year, like the already known Oil BBQ, the Glühweinstand, a Bodega-Party and a lot more.

After a tough couple of years, the oil price and the industry outlook are promising again. The local SPE Student Chapter and especially the newly appointed members are looking forward to using this opportunity to strengthen the relationship between the students and the industry. Especially, the restoration of the students’ confidence in the industry and their chosen path has been set as a big goal for the new board. These challenges will be tackled by a well-rehearsed and motivated team, however new additions to the group are always welcome. We also want to emphasize that being a petroleum engineer involves much more than solving technical problems or dealing with engineering itself. Communication skills, flexibility, cross-cultural curiosity, team spirit and courage to explore new territories are all important competencies for a person who wants to survive in this multi-disciplinary environment. These can be acquired at our events and during the organisation processes of those. Therefore, we want to act as a good supplement to the broad technical education at the university.

We are looking forward to seeing you at one of our events!

Best regards,

Christoph Flicker, President